Saturday, October 11, 2014

Congratulations to the winners of the 2014 ASEEES prizes

We had an incredible number of quality submissions for this year’s prize competitions.  The prize winners will be recognized during the ASEEES Annual Convention award ceremony on Saturday, November 22, 7:00pm, in San Antonio.  Congratulations to:

Distinguished Contributions to Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies Award:

Victor A. Friedman, University of Chicago


Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize for the most important contribution to Russian, Eurasian, and East European studies in any discipline of the humanities or social sciences.

Kate Brown, Plutopia: Nuclear Families, Atomic Cities, and the Great Soviet and American Plutonium Disasters (Oxford University Press).

Honorable Mention: Valerie Kivelson, Desperate Magic: The Moral Economy of Witchcraft in Seventeenth-Century Russia (Cornell University Press).

Honorable Mention: Derek Sayer, Prague, Capital of the Twentieth Century: A Surrealist History (Princeton University Press).


University of Southern California Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies for outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eastern Europe or Eurasia in the fields of literary and cultural studies.

Jane T. Costlow, Heart-Pine Russia: Walking and Writing the Nineteenth-Century Forest (Cornell University Press).


Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History for outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eastern Europe or Eurasia in the field of history.

Stephen Batalden, Russian Bible Wars: Modern Scriptural Translation and Cultural Authority (Cambridge University Press).

Honorable Mention: James Ward, Priest, Politician, Collaborator: Jozef Tiso and the Making of Fascist Slovakia (Cornell University Press).


Davis Center Book Prize in Political and Social Studies for outstanding monograph on Russia, Eurasia, or Eastern Europe in anthropology, political science, sociology or geography.

Erin Koch, Free Market Tuberculosis: Managing Epidemics in Post-Soviet Georgia (Vanderbilt University Press).

Honorable Mention: Anya Bernstein, Religious Bodies Politic: Rituals of Sovereignty in Buryat Buddhism (University of Chicago Press).

Honorable Mention: Krisztina Fehervary, Politics in Color and Concrete: Socialist Materialities and the Middle Class in Hungary (Indiana University Press).


Ed A Hewett Book Prize for outstanding publication on the political economy of Russia, Eurasia and/or Eastern Europe.

Dinissa Duvanova, Building Business in Post-Communist Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia: Collective Goods, Selective Incentives, and Predatory States(Cambridge University Press).

Honorable Mention: Lawrence P. Markowitz, State Erosion: Unlootable Resources and Unruly Elites in Central Asia (Cornell University Press.)


Marshall Shulman Book Prize for an outstanding monograph dealing with the international relations, foreign policy, or foreign-policy decision-making of any of the states of the former Soviet Union or Eastern Europe.

Per Högselius, Red Gas: Russia and the Origins of European Energy Dependence (Palgrave Macmillan).


Barbara Jelavich Book Prize for a distinguished monograph published on any aspect of Southeast European or Habsburg studies since 1600, or nineteenth- and twentieth-century Ottoman or Russian diplomatic history.

Kate Lebow, Unfinished Utopia: Nowa Huta, Stalinism, and Polish Society, 1949–56 (Cornell University Press).


The Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies for the best book in any discipline, on any aspect of Polish affairs.

David Frick, Kith, Kin, and Neighbors: Communities and Confessions in Seventeenth-Century Wilno (Cornell University Press).


The W. Bruce Lincoln Book Prize for an author’s first published monograph or scholarly synthesis that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for the understanding of Russia’s past.

Russell E. Martin, A Bride for the Tsar: Bride-Shows and Marriage Politics in Early Modern Russia (Northern Illinois University Press).


The ASEEES Graduate Student Essay Prize for an outstanding essay by a graduate student in Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies.

Taylor Craig Zajicek, “Modern Friendship: The ‘New Turkey’ and Soviet Cultural Diplomacy, 1933-1934,” University of Washington.


The Robert C. Tucker/Stephen F. Cohen Dissertation Prize for an outstanding English-language doctoral dissertation in Soviet or Post-Soviet politics and history in the tradition practiced by Robert C. Tucker and Stephen F. Cohen, defended at an American or Canadian university.

Maria Rogacheva, “A History of a Town that Did Not Exist: The Soviet Scientific Intelligentsia in the Post-Stalinist Era,” University of Notre Dame.


The prize winners will be recognized during the ASEEES Annual Convention award ceremony on Saturday, November 22, 7:00pm, in San Antonio. The event is open to the public. The prize citations will be printed in the convention program.

More ASEEES News