Thursday, March 07, 2019

ASEEES endorses a letter of concern regarding POLIN

Published on March 7, 2019

The Executive Committee and the Committee for Academic Freedom and Advocacy of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies endorse the following letter regarding the directorship change at the POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews.

To: Piotr Gliński, Minister of Culture and National Heritage, Republic of Poland

Rafał Trzaskowski, President of the City of Warsaw

Piotr Wiślicki, Chair of the Board of Directors, Association of the Jewish Historical Institute in Poland

We, the undersigned, are individuals for whom Polish history is an area of shared interest. The recent decision not to renew the contract of the current director of the POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews and to initiate a search to fill that position has raised questions in the public sphere about the future autonomy of this cultural institution. We have no cause or candidate to advance during the interim period of the search. However, we would encourage all parties and stakeholders involved in the process to keep in mind the purpose, mission, and integrity of the Museum. Over the course of the current decade POLIN has become a jewel in Poland’s crown, a major European educational and cultural center which has attracted visitors from around the world, enhanced Poland’s international image, and served as a receptive host to scholars of Poland’s Jewish past. The independence of POLIN should be cherished and preserved if it is to continue to enjoy the reputation of one of Europe’s great museums, a proposition to which we hope all parties interested in POLIN’s future are agreed.


Robert Blobaum, Morgantown WV, USA

Janine Holc, Baltimore MD, USA

Theodore R. Weeks, Carbondale, IL USA

Brian Porter-Szucs, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Anna Muller, Dearborn, Michigan, USA

Martin J. Hershock, Dearborn, Michigan, USA

Paul W. Knoll, Portland, Oregon, USA

Eugene Finkel, Silver Spring, MD, USA

Donata Blobaum, Morgantown, WV, USA

Michael C. Blumenthal, Morgantown, WV USA

James S. Pula, Chesterton, IN

Jan Kubik, Lambertville, NJ, USA

Nathaniel D. Wood, Lawrence, KS, USA

James S. Pula, Chesterton, IN

Bozena Leven, Bridgewater NJ

Andrew Leven, Bridgewater, NJ

Winson Chu, Milwaukee, WI, USA

Krzysztof Jasiewicz, Lexington, VA, USA

Anna Grzymala-Busse, Stanford, CA

Michael Bernhard, Gainesville, FL USA

Lynn Lubamersky, Boise, Idaho USA

Neal Pease, Shorewood WI USA

Rachel F. Brenner, Madison, WI USA

Piotr J. Wróbel, Toronto

Piotr H. Kosicki, College Park, MD USA

Lenka Bustikova, Phoenix, AZ USA

Michael Meng, Clemson, SC, USA

Jeffrey Kopstein, Irvine, CA, USA



John J. Bukowczyk, Detroit, Michigan, USA

Padraic Kenney, Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Jason Wittenberg, Berkeley, CA, USA

David A. Goldfarb, Honolulu, Hawai’i, USA

Justyna Beinek, Lawrence, Kansas, USA

Hugh L. Agnew, Washington, DC

Jane Leftwich Curry, San Jose, CA

Kathleen Wroblewski, Springfield, Missouri, USA

Andriy Zayarnyuk, Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Klaus Bachmann, Warsaw, Poland

Jan Claas Behrends, Berlin. Germany

Muriel Blaive, Prague, Czech Republic

Pavol Jakubec, Gothenburg, Sweden

Tom Junes, Sofia, Bulgaria

Magdalena Bernaciak, Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria

Erica Lehrer, Montreal, QC, Canada

Michael D. Kennedy, Providence, RI, USA

Ben Stanley, Warsaw, Poland

Jessie Labov, Budapest, Hungary

Patrice M. Dabrowski, Natick, MA, USA

Monika Nalepa, Chicago, IL

Agnieszka Pasieka, Vienna, Austria

Geneviève Zubrzycki, Ann Arbor, Michigan,, USA

Małgorzata Mazurek, New York, USA

Christopher Caes, New York, USA

Roger Schoenman, Santa Cruz, CA

Michael Stanislawski, New York, NY




More ASEEES News