Marshall D. Shulman Book Prize

2006 Citation Recipient

Milada Anna Vachudova

The Marshall D. Shulman Book Prize, established in 1987 and sponsored by the Harriman Institute at Columbia University, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph dealing with the international relations, foreign policy, or foreign-policy decision-making of any of the states of the former Soviet Union or Eastern Europe published in the previous calendar year. The prize is dedicated to the encouragement of high-quality studies of the international behavior of the countries of the former Communist Bloc.

Co-Winner: Milada Anna Vachudova
Title: Europe Undivided: Democracy, Leverage, and Integration after Communism (Oxford University Press)

In Europe Undivided, Milada Vachudova provides the most convincing account to date of the relationship between the European Union and the international politics of central and eastern Europe. In distinguishing between the European Union’s purposeful attempts to shape the politics of its eastern neighbors and the influence that derived simply from its norms, Vachudova provides a sophisticated analysis of the varied effects of European practices and policies on the domestic politics in prospective members. Vachudova thus matches her theoretical sophistication with erudite, nuanced empirical scholarship. Furthermore, by linking the process of democratization with patterns of international relations, Vachudova succeeds in connecting scholarly literatures that are too often separated.

Co-Winner: Alexander Cooley