Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize

Established in 1983, the Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize, sponsored by the Association for Slavic Studies, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES) and the Stanford University Center for Russian and East European Studies, is awarded annually for the most important contribution to Russian, Eurasian, and East European studies in any discipline of the humanities or social sciences published in English in the United States in the previous calendar year. The Vucinich Book Prize carries a cash award and is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Rules of Eligibility

Rules of eligibility for the Vucinich book prize competition are as follows:

  • The publication date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication. For example, the book must have been a publication date of 2023 to be eligible for the 2024 competition. If no publication date is listed, the copyright date will be taken as the publication date.
  • The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
  • The book must be published in the United States and originally published in English.
  • Authors may be of any nationality.
  • Works may deal with any area of Eastern Europe, Russia, or Eurasia.
  • The competition is open to works of scholarship in any discipline of the social sciences or humanities (including literature, the arts, film, etc.).
  • Policy analyses, however scholarly, cannot be considered.
  • Textbooks, collections, translations (including self-translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
  • Self-published works are also ineligible.

Nominating Instructions

A book can be nominated by the publisher or the author only. The nominator (publisher or author) is responsible for sending copies of the book to the prize committee members.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for Vucinich prize. As of 2020, books may only be nominated for two prizes (e.g.,this prize and one other).

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by the prize committee members by May 15 (books received after the deadline may not be considered).

 Submissions should be clearly marked “Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize Nomination.”

Questions should be directed to aseees-prizes@pitt.edu.

2024 Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize Committee

The winner of the 2024 Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars. For all committee members, print books are preferred, but where needed ebooks can be accepted at the addresses below. For questions, please contact ASEEES at aseees-prizes@pitt.edu or 412-648-9911..

Robert Nemes
History Department, Colgate University
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346

Tomila Lankina
London School of Economics and Political Science (UK), 2024-2025
Please email aseees-prizes@pitt.edu for the mailing address.

Ana Hedberg Olenina
Arizona State University, 2024
Please email aseees-prizes@pitt.edu for the mailing address.

Douglas Rogers
Yale University, 2024-2025
Department of Anthropology, Yale University
10 Sachem Street
New Haven, CT 06511

(For customs use): Please mark the nominated books as “gift” to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.

1983–2005 Archive

More ASEEES Prizes

See more Prizes
  • Robert C. Tucker/Stephen F. Cohen Dissertation Prize

    The Robert C. Tucker/Stephen F. Cohen Dissertation Prize  is awarded annually for an outstanding English-language doctoral dissertation in Soviet or Post-Soviet politics and history in the tradition practiced by Robert C. Tucker and Stephen F. Cohen. The dissertation must be defended at an American or Canadian university.

    Read more

  • Beth Holmgren Graduate Student Essay Prize

    The Beth Holmgren Graduate Student Essay Prize is awarded for an outstanding essay by a graduate student in Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies.

    Read more

  • W. Bruce Lincoln Book Prize

    The W. Bruce Lincoln Book Prize is awarded annually for an author's first published monograph or scholarly synthesis that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for the understanding of Russia's past.

    Read more