Barbara Jelavich Book Prize

The Barbara Jelavich Book Prize, established in 1995 and sponsored by the Jelavich estate, is awarded annually for a distinguished monograph published on any aspect of Southeast European or Habsburg studies since 1600, or nineteenth- and twentieth-century Ottoman or Russian diplomatic history in the previous calendar year. The Jelavich Book Prize carries a cash award and is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Barbara Jelavich was a distinguished and internationally respected scholar whose numerous publications included Modern Austria, Russia’s Balkan Entanglements, and the two-volume History of the Balkans. The Jelavich Prize was established in 1995 in her memory to recognize and to encourage the high standards she set in her many areas of scholarly interest and to promote continued study of those areas.

Rules of Eligibility

Rules of eligibility for the Jelavich book prize competition are as follows:

  • The publication date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication. For example, the book must have been a publication date of 2023 to be eligible for the 2024 competition. If no publication date is listed, the copyright date will be taken as the publication date.
  • The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
  • The book must be originally published in English.
  • Authors must be scholars who are citizens or permanent residents of North America.
  • The competition is open to works on any aspect of Southeast European or Habsburg studies since 1600, or 19th- and 20th-century Ottoman or Russian diplomatic history.
  • Textbooks, translations (including self-translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
  • Self-published works are ineligible.

Nominating Instructions

A book can be nominated by the publisher or the author only. The nominator (publisher or author) is responsible for sending copies of the book to the prize committee members.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for the Jelavich prize. As of 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (e.g., this prize and one other).

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15 (books not received by the deadline may not be considered).

Submissions should be clearly marked “Barbara Jelavich Book Prize Nomination.”

Please direct questions to

2024 Barbara Jelavich Book Prize Committee

The winner of the 2024 Barbara Jelavich Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars. For questions, please contact ASEEES at or 412-648-9911..

Emily Greble
Vanderbilt University, 2023-2025
Print books are preferred. Please mail them to:
Emily Greble
Department of History, Vanderbilt University
PMB 351802-2301
2301 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37235
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to:

Theodora Dragostinova
Ohio State University, 2023-2024
Print books are preferred. Please send them to:
Theodora Dragostinova
100 Dulles Hall, The Ohio State University
230 Annie & John Glenn Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210

Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to:

Vladimir Kulic
Iowa State U, 2024-2026
Ebooks are preferred. Please email them to:

(For customs use): Please mark the nominated books as “gift” to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.

Past Winners

The following scholars received the Barbara Jelavich Book Prize in the past:

More ASEEES Prizes

See more Prizes
  • Robert C. Tucker/Stephen F. Cohen Dissertation Prize

    The Robert C. Tucker/Stephen F. Cohen Dissertation Prize  is awarded annually for an outstanding English-language doctoral dissertation in Soviet or Post-Soviet politics and history in the tradition practiced by Robert C. Tucker and Stephen F. Cohen. The dissertation must be defended at an American or Canadian university.

    Read more

  • Beth Holmgren Graduate Student Essay Prize

    The Beth Holmgren Graduate Student Essay Prize is awarded for an outstanding essay by a graduate student in Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies.

    Read more

  • W. Bruce Lincoln Book Prize

    The W. Bruce Lincoln Book Prize is awarded annually for an author's first published monograph or scholarly synthesis that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for the understanding of Russia's past.

    Read more